The 7 Diatonic Modes

Dec 02, 2020

There are 7 modes of the major (diatonic scale).  These modes are variations of the diatonic major scale ("Ionian").

Here are the 7 modes with a brief description of each modes unique quality / sound:

1. Ionian  --->  "the major scale"

2. Dorian  --->  "a minor scale with a raised 6th scale degree"

3. Phrygian  --->  "a minor scale with a lowered 2nd scale degree"

4. Lydian  --->  "a major scale with a raised 4th scale degree"

5. Mixolydian  --->  "a major scale with a lowered 7th scale degree"

6. Aeolian  --->  "the minor scale"

7. Locrian  --->  "a minor scale with a lowered 2nd -AND- 7th scale degree"

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Cras sed sapien quam. Sed dapibus est id enim facilisis, at posuere turpis adipiscing. Quisque sit amet dui dui.

Call To Action

Stay connected with news and updates!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.
Don't worry, your information will not be shared.

We hate SPAM. We will never sell your information, for any reason.